2021-04-19 22:32:09

Hi.
I have a question about USB bootable usb drives.
I am going to reinstall windows 10, (my pc is acting strange) and I don't want any bloatware with the install, so I'm going to do it via USB drive.
my question is, if I plugged a bootable USB drive into my pc then turn it on, would it automatically boot from the drive?
or do I have to go to the boot menu as normal? this is my first time installing from bootable USB drives.
thanks.

I am a divine being. I can be called a primordial deity, but that might be pushing it, a smidge. I am the only one of my kind to have ten tails, with others having nine. I don't mean to sound arrogant, but I have ascended my own race.

2021-04-19 23:08:57

Likely not, so you would have to access the boot menu.

Facts with Tom MacDonald, Adam Calhoun, and Dax
End racism
End division
Become united

2021-04-19 23:31:24

You'll have to access the boot menu during POST - how to do it will depend on your computer's manufacturer. It's typically one of the F keys.

What game will hadi.gsf want to play next?

2021-04-20 00:20:21

oh ok. because once when I had a usb device connected to the pc wile startup it said that an os was not found and press alt +ctrl +del.
I mite have seen something else, but thanks.

I am a divine being. I can be called a primordial deity, but that might be pushing it, a smidge. I am the only one of my kind to have ten tails, with others having nine. I don't mean to sound arrogant, but I have ascended my own race.

2021-04-20 04:58:15 (edited by defender 2021-04-20 04:59:53)

Actually, you can now go into Uefi boot chooser without knowing the right F key, right from within Win 10.  It's pretty cool!

1. Click the Start menu and select Settings.
2. Select Update and Security.
3. Click Recovery.
4. Under Advanced startup, click Restart now. ...
5. Select Troubleshoot.
6. Choose Advanced options.
7. Select UEFI Firmware Settings.
8. Click Restart to restart the system and enter UEFI (BIOS).