2016-12-10 02:23:14

Hi all,

Over the last year or so, I've been trying to find something I might be able to do. I graduated high school in June and spent the next 4 months trying to get into an Apple Store job position. When I finally got an interview in October, I quickly realized it wasn't for me. Now, I'm looking into some other options. I came across the CompTIA A+ certification. I'd like to work in some kind of IT or technical support role, so thought this might help get me started. Does anyone have any information on this? HOw should I proceed? Would it be better for me to go to an actual school or center where I could get hands on instructions from a human? How blind friendly is the whole process? I'd much rather take a $200 or so test than waste 2 or 4 years at a College or other bullshit.

Grab my Adventure at C: stages Right here.

2016-12-10 08:25:52

I hear you, and I thought, and still do think, much the same thing.

From what  I've been able to find out, you need either 6 months of experience in the IT field, or an equivalent amount of training. I would presume you must provide proof of this before you can even take the A+ exam. I am not going to go into the experience I had that should have given me this equivalent training on a public forum, but it screwed me over. Enough said. Anyway, I hope you have better luck than I did obtaining this training. Because, frankly, college isn't everything, especially in this day and age. So it's refreshing to see that someone else believes that life doesn't end just because you don't have a diploma, which inevitably leads to lots of money, 4 kids, a lovely, well-tended house, and all the rest, right?

The glass is neither half empty nor half full. It's just holding half the amount it can potentially hold.

2016-12-10 11:07:05