2012-05-16 14:47:18

i think that would be cool if audio games.net had a public chatroom or a shoutbox.

i'm sure there is a way to bring out an accessible chatroom onto the site.
so this community has evrrything except a chatroom
sad

twitter: @hadirezae3
discord: Hadi

2012-05-16 14:55:00

Hi,

AJAX Chat would work really well for this. In fact, if many enough would request it, I'd set it up. smile
I've been an admin of a site that features an AJAX Chat for quite a while, so I'm quite familiar with it. Shouldn't take me long. smile

--
Talon
Wanna play my Games? Listen to my Music? Follow me on Twitter, and say hi~
Code is poetry.

2012-05-16 15:45:01

there you go,
people can vote now i believe

2012-05-16 18:33:19

I'm not aversed to the idea, however Ajax often causes screen reader issues, at least I've seen a lot of chat sites and programs that don't behave because of it, so if Ajax was used, it would need testing.

More crytically, my one concern with a chatroom is that of who would moderate and administrate it. If gorthalen wants to setup and run this, i'd be happy to make him official chatroom mod for audiogames.net, however just as the forum specifically needs moderators, so would a chatroom, to insure people weren't being generally nasty, passind cracks or anything of the like sinse we'd not really want the site associated with that.

Sinse the only chat I've used is M irc with core exiles, I'd not really myself be confident in moderating such a chat, nor indeed could I likely be in the chat enough to count as a mod (another problem with chat).

So, while it's an idea, it does need thinking about. what would be the bennifits to an official chat for audiogames.net? Could it do anything that the forum couldn't already do? what sort of links or official ties would it have to the site or the forum?