2006-03-29 21:38:18

hello,

I wanted to ask everyone in this forum that which programming language do you think is better and easier to learn.
I have no programming background, i only know html.
if someone could give me some suggestions with what i need to get started that will be great.
thanks in advance,
Chaman

2006-03-30 06:44:05

Once you learn one it's easy enough to use others. Basic is a good start, I first learned in QBasic but that's dos so you might have to jump a step and use Visual Basic. On the other hand if you have a set up where you can use Dos I gather Dos has Basic built in.

As mentioned many times before, the best one to use depends on your style and what libraries are available for what you're making. VB is useful, but C++ gives more control and I find it flows better in my head. Start with one of the Basic variants and then see what fits your projects best, and try to learn a little design theory. The theory will help a lot, especially in letting you move fairly easily from one language to another - instead of working things out from scratch you'll simply look for what the Java or C++ equivalent to a Do-While or For loop is, the same repeating and decision making commands exist in all languages just with slightly different names and ways of laying them out.

cx2
-----
To live by honour and to honour life, these are our greatest strengths and our best hopes.

2006-03-30 16:18:02

Well, if i can ay this, in generally, the easiest programming languages can't have rich features, for instance AutoIt.
It is easy to learn, but doesnt supports objects.
I started with pascal, which is a good practicing language, but nothing else.
Then i learned html (well, it is not a programming language, i know), then javascript, Visual Basic, sql, mySql, and now for php and vb.net.
I suggest you to begin with a simple programming language like pascal, or basic, then you can learn the more complex ones, c++ for example.