2010-12-04 23:19:59

I know there are "Raised line" coloring books out there for the VI/Blind, but are they useful? Do VI/Blind people color with their children? Would they like to be able to teach their children colors with braille crayons? What about crayons that are scented to match the color so they can help teach their children colors? Do VI/Blind children like to color? Would they like a device that allows them to color in the lines and do the same picture over and over again? Would it help the children feel with their fingers if they could practice with raised lines on paper while coloring?

Lol, sorry for so many questions. I'm new to the VI/Blind group.

2010-12-05 08:59:56

As to the questions relating to children, I'm afraid I can't answer, sinse a, I don't have any and B, I don't particularly plan to, ---- I love baby's under about 18 months (as well as animals), but kids over that age, --- no thanks.

I myself did used to use large, brightly coloured pens etc to colour pictures, and also a thing called german film for line drawings and angles in school doing subjects like maths and technology, where drawing a line with a pen produces a tactile line.

But actual picture drawing was never something I did much of or was overly interested in myself, sinse my spacial awareness is pretty pathetic and I could never get things to go streight without using a ruler ;D.

Pluss, my brother was always the more artistically inclind one, ---- Music or writing was more my thing.

As someone with colour synaesthesia though, I love your scented crayons idea. The only problem would be, that I'd find the scents being the wrong colour for the crayons which would be actually rather disturbing ;D.

Btw, if your not familiar with Synaesthesia  it means perceiving one set of sensory stimulae as another see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Synaesthesia

With our dreaming and singing, Ceaseless and sorrowless we! The glory about us clinging Of the glorious futures we see,