2022-03-20 07:50:27

Hi, I don't know what I am doing wrong, but the Linux screen reader is just not working for me.
I don't really like Mac OS, and some things about Windows drive me crazy. So I thought I would give Linux a try. Running in a VM first though, because I am just a very beginner. I was looking at good Linux distros for the blind earlier, and decided on mint because it was main stream, free, and not as popular and over loaded with random stuff as Ubuntu, but still pritty user friendly.
I got it installed, and turned on the screen reader. But, that's when every thing went wrong. I can hear the speach, the desktop reads just fine, but when I hit the windows key, called the super key, it says minu, but it will not read the thing! I tried tabing, using the arrow keys, shift tabing, and randomly moving my finger hopelessly around the trackpad, and still nothing. Shurly the start menu is accessible, right? People use Linux enough that it just, have to be.
Then I thought, "Oh wait, maybee there is a setting I have to change." So I got a family member to kind of figure out where settings might be, and even find the accessibility option. Then I tried to navigate. I could use left and right erow to navigate through the catigories, EG vition, keyboard, mouse, hearing, but pressed enter and nothing happened! Tab read nothing, up and down erow did nothing! I then used OCR from another device of mine, and it could see options. They were actually there and the screen reader could not read them!
I tried other menus, and same thing! I am using the built in screen reader, Orca, I think it's called, and I just don't understand.
What am I doing wrong? Can I have help?
PS. I am a native english speaker, but due to a disibility struggle greatly with spelling. I am so sorry, am trying my best. Also, grabbed the nearist device I had to right this, so I am righting this on an iphone with braille screen input. This is probably not helping.