2019-06-14 09:30:46

Hi,
I have an older version of windows 10 but I want to install the latest one. So I wanted to ask that will I have to download and then install it or windows will automatically update. I have never done this before so I need your help.

I am not someone who is ashamed of my past. I'm actually really proud. I know I made a lot of mistakes, but they, in turn, were my life lessons. Drew Barrymore
Follow me on Twitter, Discord and Instagram

2019-06-14 10:00:01 (edited by sunshine 2019-06-14 10:01:55)

Get update assistant here
you don't need to worry about it. Just download the update assistant, let it download the files necessary(might take some time, depending upon your connection speed), hit upgrade, keep all files, settings and apps, and let it install. Note: I'm assuming that you have original version of windows. Not sure if it'll work otherwise or not.

2019-06-14 12:31:51

@2, Thanks and how much mb will it need approximately? And is their any way of checking if the version I am using is real or not cause I bought this laptop 2 or three months ago.

I am not someone who is ashamed of my past. I'm actually really proud. I know I made a lot of mistakes, but they, in turn, were my life lessons. Drew Barrymore

2019-06-14 12:43:52

allthough you could use an assistant, you'd better wait until the updates comes out in windows update center.

2019-06-14 13:00:08 (edited by sunshine 2019-06-14 13:03:17)

@3, the update assistant itself is like 20MB or so. As for the space required on your C:, I'd say minimum of 30GB. To check if your windows is activated or not, press win+e, then backspace. On this PC, hit alt+enter. Then
a  control panel window called "System" opens, just use the touch cursor with JAWS, or object navigation with NvdA to see if it shows "Windows is activated" or not. Though if it came with preinstalled windows, it most likely has the activated version.
HTH.

2019-06-14 18:00:12

Hi,