2019-06-06 03:55:12

Hey everyone.

So, this idea might sound strange at first, but let me explain.

As some of you might know, me and some others are actively trying to get X3 albion prelude as accessible as possible.
Some things we already have achieved, but the largest point is still not figured out.
X3 is a very heavy menu based game which entirely can be controlled by the keyboard.
What we want to do is find a way to let the menu of the game talk, and here would be my idea, keep in mind that I am not a programmer and don't know if this would even work.
X3 has the ability to be modded which has been the way for us to play the game.
My idea now would be creating a mod for the game which takes the active menu options or string under the active cursor, copy it, put it somewhere and let another program read out the string with the Tolk library for NVDA.
Basically, options appear, x3 script finds active cursor, copies it, sends it over to other program, other program reads out copied string with the tolk library.
Maybe we could also integrate the tolk library directly into the x3 script that could copy the active string.
Someone managed this with a GTA trainer, so I guess it would be technically possible.

Any input from you guys?
We are missing a programmer for this project.
If someone would be able to help us, a monitary reward from my side would be definatly an option.

So, what are your thoughts?

Greetings Moritz.

Hail the unholy church of Satan, go share it's greatness.

2019-06-06 05:22:23

if there's a way to discover the string of the menu based on the cursor position, you probably don't need to copy it, you can just pass the string to the tolk_output function.
Just a curiousity in which language is the script made?

Paul

2019-06-06 06:30:26

Hi.

Hrm ok, we would need to find a way to discover the string though.

I believe that the scripting language is a proprietary language. Some of the scripts are XML files, but most of them are in the pck format.