2019-05-22 02:45:28 (edited by lucas_kill_09 2019-05-22 02:46:09)

Hello! I'm a lurker for some time, but this is my first thread! I'm a graduate student and I'm doing my final work on how to make better movement and navigation system for first person audiogames. I'm not blind, but I like audiogames and love 3D sound. Now I'm making my prototype using Unity.

To be more specific, I consider movement the act of moving through the rooms, how fast can i turn, etc., and navigation as the abilities to have clues or indications to where should I go or do.

What I'm trying to accomplish with my project is to create a prototype that has easier and more fluid movement and navigation than in other audiogames, basically merging the best things I've tried in these three games:
*  A Blind Legend: More freely and fast pacing movement, and a simple but very effective navigation system (using Louise, which indicates the exact place you have to go) to simplify navigation;
* Shades of Doom: Good 3D sound, good sound indicators, and the how these features make closed spaces more easy to navigate;
* SWAMP: The use of mouse, which is very common in videogames, but I think would be perfect for a more fluid movement. The rest of the game movement and navigation mechanics confused me very much.

What I'm doing to accomplish these features with this prototype?
* Using steam audio, a 3d audio framework that allows the sound to be binaural. It also has the feature I like the most, is that in closed spaces, the sounds reflects through walls of rooms and corridors until it gets to the player, giving a natural indication of where the player must go to find the sound.
* Implementing a simple assistant to tell to where direction the player should go (like Louise in A Blind Legend), so it's easier to move inside closed spaces;
* With WASD movement and the mouse (W moves forward, A moves backwards, A strafes to the left, D strafes to the right), I hope to bring a more fluid way to move.