2008-05-12 22:23:11

I'm a flash game developer and I've been making my games accessible. I've been using Windows Eyes to test my games' ability to cue the screen reader. My question is how do you get into a Flash game using the keyboard. I try tabbing but it seems to skip over the flash movie or else it simply says there is a flash element. If I hit enter it doesn't bring focus to the game. So far the only way I can bring focus to the game is to click on the element with a mouse. Can anyone explain how you can get access to a Flash game using a screen reader?
Thanks a bunch!

2008-05-13 01:47:42

If it's anything like Jaws for Windows it will put the web page into memory in a linearised format, and you should be able to use the up and down arrows to move through the page. In case you've missed it and it is helpful there is a resource centre for accessibility on Adobe's site, and in the game list on the main audiogames.net page there is a game called "blind date" made by the Royal National Institute of the Blind here in Britain which was written in flash as an example of what can be done.

Hope this helps some, let us know how it goes.

cx2
-----
To live by honour and to honour life, these are our greatest strengths and our best hopes.

Thumbs up

2008-05-13 16:56:05

Thank you for your suggestion. I have visited the Adobe Accessibility site before and read the whitepaper by Bob Regan; it has been invaluable.  The game you mention, Blind Date, seems to have solved the problem of focus, but as I looked through its code I could see nothing different from what I have been doing. I have found that my problem of changing the keyboard focus to a Flash movie is a Firefox specific problem. Everything seems to work fine in IE. Do you know of any Firefox bugs/issues with screen readers?

2008-05-13 21:57:19

After some research it does look like Firefox has a bug with accessibility for plugins like Flash Player. I hope the fix it in Firefox 3.

2008-05-14 01:51:50