2015-01-06 21:23:43

Hi
I'm a sociology student which means in other words I don't know nothing bout coding. I have had brewing inside me an idea of developing an audio game. What I want to do is to make good gameplay and a good soundscape to go with it. The idea I'm currently having is some kind of a pirate game where you are the captain of the ship and have to do stuff. This idea of gameplay is not very original and has been used in at least a few games accessible to blind users. My idea as of now is pretty fluid and my problem is mainly in which direction to swim so to speak. I have no experience with coding and but have found some people who do to be with me on the team. What I'm asking for is basically any advice you can give. What is possible with what resources? Where should you start? Is it better to start developing one gameplay mechannick and build on that or to allways keep the final picture in mind. What programming languages do you think might be good for this kind of game?
Yeah... any advice much apriciated

2015-01-06 22:25:23

Binary solo, the first thing you need to do before you and your partners write a single line of code is develop an outline for your game. By an outline I'm not talking about a few generic ideas, but flush out how the game will work in theory, figure out some mechanics, ideas for game levels, etc. In short, figure out all the nitty gritty details before you start writing the game else you'll have to figure it all out later on which will not be easy to do.

As far as the subject of programming language I'll just say it depends on many different factors. What platform or platforms you intend to support, what APIs you intend to support,the amount of heavy mathematics, etc. There is no one-size fits all answer to your question and this is where an outline may help. The more details we know about a given game the better we can direct you to the right tools and languages to create it.

Sincerely,
Thomas Ward
USA Games Interactive