2013-01-23 02:33:04

Hi all,

Well, I've been playing guitar for a number of years now, and for the longest time I've been relying on someone else to string it.  I was wondering if anyone here knew how to string a guitar, and if so, any way possible to learn how to do so?  I imagine it can't be too hard, we've figured out many things before.  I'm sure stringing a guitar is in the archive of things we've accomplished.

Any help gladly appreciated,

Best Regards,

Luke

What game will hadi.gsf want to play next?

2013-01-23 04:43:28

I've been playing guitar for about 10 years myself, ever since I was 9. How to string a guitar depends on what you have... let me know what kind of guitar you have and I will try and help.

Discord: clemchowder633

2013-01-23 08:18:22

Luke, stringing a guitar isn't too hard. The next time you need to string your guitar you should have the person show you how he or she does it. All the same there isn't much to it.

Basically, you string a guitar one string at a time. Let's say you start with the first string, the high e string, replace that string, tune it, and then move onto the b string, and so forth. Once you have replaced all six strings let it set a day or two, check your tuning, retune if necessary, and then use a pair of wire cutters to trim off the extra length of strings you don't need. That's basically the process in a nutshell.

Sincerely,
Thomas Ward
USA Games Interactive
http://www.usagamesinteractive.com

2013-01-23 09:03:51

Tom you do it slightly differently than I do. I tend to cut the wires as soon as the strings are firmly in place and I'm sure there's extra I don't need. But I think what he was saying was how to actuallywind the strings, and actually replace the strings. That can be a bit more tricky, if you don't know how to do it I think. Especially on a classical guitar. haha

2013-01-23 11:57:22