2018-07-15 08:21:11

Hi everyone,

My name is Ronny and I'm doing a PhD at The University of Melbourne, Australia. I'm researching ways to make full 3D games accessible to people with visual impairment and as part of my research I first want to know more about how you guys play games. Even though I myself am vision impaired and use screen reading software for certain things, I'm pretty new to audiogames, that's why I decided to ask for your help.

I've created a Google form with some questions and it would be great if you guys could help me out filling it in. This is the link for it: link to survey

The survey should take 15 to 20 minutes to fill in, and I tested it with NVDA and Firefox.

Thank you in advance to all those who fill in the survey!

P.S. if this is not the right place to post this topic, please admins feel free to move it.

2018-07-15 15:28:32

Hi Ronny.

I'm afraid I'm having problems with your survey.

Firstly, I cannot fill in the country box for some reason (when I click on the list nothing happens), but crytically I'm not sure what you mean.

You state in this topic that you want information about audiogames, and yet all  the questions on your form revolve around "video games" Unfortunately, the two terms are not interchangeable and refer to different types of computer games.

this site is primarily about audiogames, that is games based on sound that are either self voicing or output to screen readers and are usually specifically design for the audiogames community, , so all the news you'll see on the site, and the database concern audiogames.

Some audiogames also have graphics, though this is rare, and often the graphics are more a place holder than real 3D graphics of the sort you'd see on a modern console.

Though there have been one or two audiogames for consoles such as sound voyager on the gameboy advanced, these are rare indeed, most audiogames are produced by independent developers for PC, Ios or Android.