2018-06-19 22:26:27

Hi all,
I heard that there were some new Siri voices released recently, which I wanted to try out. After playing with them for a bit, I found that they had some pronunciation issues which I wasn't happy with. Ultimately, I decided to go back to using the US Siri male, the same voice I've been using for 2 years.

When I did so, I found that I was not presented with an option to choose between the compact and enhanced variants. I got stuck with the enhanced one, which sounds awful to me, it always did. The other voices, such as Samantha, Tom, etc. still provide the option to switch, and it works just fine.

Is this a bug in the latest version of IOS, or is there something else I can do besides resetting my phone to get it back? If it is a bug, I'll be more than happy to submit a report, because this sucks. It's the only voice I can stand listening to for long periods of time. As I said, I'm using the latest version of IOS 11, and before today, had not changed the voice at all for nearly 2 years, so for all I know, this could be either a long-standing problem or a new feature, which I certainly hope it isn't. Similarly, I would be willing to bet the new Siri voices sound much better with their compact variants anyway.

The glass is neither half empty nor half full. It's just holding half the amount it can potentially hold.

2018-06-20 03:38:02 (edited by Slender 2018-06-20 03:38:21)

I don't think there are compact Siri voices anymore, unfortunately, or at least none that can be used by Voiceover. Oddly there is a compact Siri voice available, but Voiceover can't use it for some reason.

Oh no! Somebody released the h key! Everybody run and hide!

2018-06-20 04:49:33

That doesn't make any sense. Where did it go? I was just using it this morning! Clearly the voice has to still be stored somewhere on my phone.

The glass is neither half empty nor half full. It's just holding half the amount it can potentially hold.

2018-06-20 09:16:20