2018-04-01 14:40:31

hello, guys. let me introduce myself. I am Sofwan, a relatively old user here, I already join in this forum since 2015 or so. I already introduce myself in dark's topic though. I never talk much, mainly due the my bad english and my personality that don't like to talk too much.
I am currently in my second year in  english education study program, and because here in Indonesia the assistive technology is not too develop yet  like there in other country, I started to encounter a few difficulties in learning. mainly with there is no soft-file source book available, the lecturers don't understand how to teach student with visually impaired, etc.
luckily, I can pass most of them quite well. In this 4th semester, however, I can't think of an alternative I can do for following the lesson. the subject is linguistics, and we started to study linguistic stuff such as phonetic, syntax, morphology etc, and I found out that neither jaws nor NVDA can help me study. they can not  read several of those strange symbols, and I even haven't study those topic deeper yet.
for those who study linguistic, how do you learn it? is there any add-on, or website or anything that can help you study?

thank you, and I am sorry if there is any mistake whether it grammatical or misstype in this post.

good day
togira
sorry for my bad english

2018-04-01 17:49:19

If I remember correctly, there's an addon for NVDA that enables the reading of Unicode symbols, such as IPA. I don't remember where to find it.

看過來!
"If you want utopia but reality gives you Lovecraft, you don't give up, you carve your utopia out of the corpses of dead gods."
MaxAngor wrote:
    George... Don't do that.

2018-04-02 02:43:15

Hmm, I seem to recall you asking something similar last year, heh. I could have swore I saw something for NVDA not long ago in their [mailing list] but can't find anything concrete, you could ask about it there if you like.