2017-10-17 19:57:20 (edited by CritterPup 2017-10-17 21:19:57)

Hello, everyone. It is I, the self-styled philosopher, here with another topic that has been eating away at me for years now.
  First, let me begin with some background on myself. I was not born blind. A rather aggressive brain tumor destroyed my optic nerves, leaving me completely blind at the age of two. At the age of three, I was enrolled in the early childhood program at my elementary school. And, here, I began to learn braille.
  I studied it diligently for years, until I was about seven years old, whereupon my training was complete. I had read for four years then and discovered I loved it. So I read...
And read...
And read a bit more after that...
Competed in some Braille Challenges...
Read more...
Went to high school...
Read...
Applied for college and got accepted...
And here we are now.
Some rather disturbing developments have come up of late, though. As I am an avid braille reader, I will attest to the fact that braille is important. Extremely so. But lately, it's come to my attention that some people would rather read through audio or screen reader than braille itself. This at it's core is personal preference, something I cannot disrespect anyone for. But the phrase that strikes me as the most disturbing is, "Braille is dying."
  Let me pause in my philosophical ramblings to say that, as most of you may know, I am a writer, and hold my ability to spell and use grammar in high regard. I apologize if that sounds arrogant and ironic, for I'm sure I'll end up finding out I've made a few errors here.