2017-06-22 14:42:25 (edited by nerdygentleman 2017-06-22 16:05:56)

Howdy -

I've been rewriting my non-console (and completely inaccessible) roguelike Atlas Warriors, and attempting to make multiple interfaces while I'm at it.

I'm making an OpenGL graphical (but simulated text with weird and cool effects) and was going to make a Console one that was optimised for screen readers - so, by default, only showing the current room (for instance) and being more of a command line style application.

Is it worth implementing the screen reader libraries in the console version? Or, should I just let people point their screenreader at the console and let it go? Alternatively, should I just make sure the GL version is screenreadable... but I think that may be a little bit tough.

Sorry - I'm new at actually considering this.

L

2017-06-22 19:15:44

Hmm, from what I know, you shouldn't need to add any extra screen reader support for a console application. The standard console window can be focused by the screen reader. Now, you are right that adding screen reader support to a graphical interface like the one that you had described would be a bit more involved. If I remember, a library called Tolk is supposed to assist with this process, but I've never played with that library.

I have a website now.
"C: God's Programming Language
C++: The object-oriented programming language of a pagan deity" -- The Red Book
"There, but for the grace of God go I"

2017-06-22 21:53:36 (edited by Ian Reed 2017-06-22 22:07:42)

Agreed, if you make it in the console then screen readers can already access it.
That said, if you are willing to put more thought and effort into it, then you can provide a better experience by creating a custom interface.
For instance you can allow players to move around your grid of tiles using the arrow keys, which is a little nicer than the console since a screen reader is designed for reading text in the console, not navigating a grid of tiles.