2017-01-06 16:20:49 (edited by nerdygentleman 2017-01-06 16:26:15)

Heya -

As it says above - I'm a sighted gamer/amateur game dev/professional software engineer who is trying to understand how to make interfaces for games work with audio-interfaces, screen readers etc. I know this takes it strictly out of Audio Games, but I've been unable to find any other good forums where Audio Games or games for the blind.

I've been really keen to start at least considering ways to include a non-visual interface since listening to the enlightening episode of Roguelike Radio featuring a discussion about roguelike games being playable by the blind, and notably what makes it possible with screenreaders, but also the challenges I as a sighted gamer don't face. The biggest I noticed from the interview was being able to 'see' larger, open levels.

So - are there any good ways of presenting spatial data in a blind-friendly way? I'd love to make a Roguelike, or a Tycoon style game that is accessible by everybody. The difficulty is that both genres - whilst being friendly to being turn based or slowed down - feature spatial management heavily. In the case of RLs - it seemed that the ASCII interface plus smaller scale rooms worked well. In the case of Tycoon games - I don't know. The issue is - with something like Railroad Tycoon and its placing train tracks manually interface - that you've got a map which is sparsely filled.

Ideas I've had are to try to enable a more 'route' based interface for building if players want to use it, possibly describe that way.

Or - alternatively - has anybody attempted using a moveable, zoomable space? So, the screen reader can be focussed on parts of the map, and then zoomed in on smaller parts for more detail, rather than presenting it all, every time?

Has anybody got any suggestions? Any guidance as to where I go next to see these problems solved? Heck - have they been solved, and I just don't know it?