2015-08-03 20:37:01

Hi people, im unsure where i post this topic but if im in mistake the administrator will post this topic in right forum. Im totaly blind and i wont to start with developping any text based ofline game. Can i do that becouse im blind, and i need any manual or can any give me advice which program i can use for that...

2015-08-03 22:01:36

Moderation!

The Development room is for this sort of thing. I'll move the topic, but please remember next time.

With our dreaming and singing, Ceaseless and sorrowless we! The glory about us clinging Of the glorious futures we see,
Our souls with high music ringing; O men! It must ever be
That we dwell in our dreaming and singing, A little apart from ye. (Arthur O'Shaughnessy 1873.)

2015-08-04 20:56:44

@Milos, what you want to do is very possible. Being blind is no hindrance to developing software. I'm blind myself and I have been programming games and other software for over 15 years or so.

As far as writing text based games you can pretty much use any programming language you want. In fact, there are some languages such as Inform where specifically designed for text based games. It all depends upon what else you hope to accomplish with the language, and how complex a language you are willing to learn. I'd say there is no right or wrong answer to the question of which language to learn and use other than if you are comfortable with it and it does what you want it to do.

That said, might I suggest starting with Python. Python is a very straight forward programming language and uses spacing and formatting to define blocks of code rather than using braces, brackets, semi-colons, etc like you would find in C,, or Java. Its a nice minimalist language but is very powerful. Plus I find it especially nice for banging out a quick text based game or two when I'm in the mood. So you may want to give Python some thought if your needs aren't too complicated.

Sincerely,
Thomas Ward
USA Games Interactive