2015-04-12 13:52:03

Right, let's do this!

I've been working on and off a sequel for Entombed for a little while, and I'm fairly certain about some aspects of the new game that I thought I'd share and get feedback on.

First, I love Entombed. I was a much less experienced programmer when I wrote it, and as a result (I'm sure the players are aware) it has some annoying bugs that I couldn't ever really get rid of entirely. For the sequel, tentatively titled "The Skeleton Tower", I'm going to try and avoid some of the unnecessary complexity of the original. Hopefully keep it cleaner and less bug prone.

Entombed 2 is going to be designed from the ground up to be moddable by the community. I think this will give a lot of longevity. You should be able to add your own monsters and items, and possibly even skills, spells, and player characters.

I will definitely make a Windows version, but I'm also hoping to have a Mac version too. It's possible, though a lot more work, to also have Android and iPhone versions. That all depends on if there are enough people wanting it ported to those systems.

Entombed 2 is going to use SAPI. It's just too difficult for me to add other screen readers .DLLs and keep the code portable.

You'll be able to change many aspects of Entombed 2 using the built-in scripting engine, Lua. I looked into a lot of scripting engines and Lua was the only one I could reliably get to work on PC, Mac, Android, and IOS. I might still hit snags with the mobile platforms in the future, so they're a big if at the moment.

Entombed 1 used a local database based on SQL. This was a major, major headache. Many times the game wouldn't run because the user didn't have the exact right SQL version and it was just a mess. I'm absolutely not doing that again.