2014-10-05 16:50:02

Hello,
I am studying abroad in Italy and think it is a crime that some of the italians have not seen movies like Bruce all mighty, Napoleon Dynamite, dumb and dumber and all the American classics.
I have a netflix account, but it doesn't work in Italy sadly. I am on a network that is super strict, to the point of absurdity (audiogames.net is blocked for example).
I have downloaded all kinds of Proxy software to test it, but either my school's firewall blocks it, or it doesn't work on netflix.
For example,
I used a 3 day trial of proxify to watch movies at a friend's house.
So I know watching Netflix movies is possible here, it is just getting the proxies I can use to work.
I think my best bet is using a VPS from Digital Ocean and running my own proxy through that. That is what I'm doing right now. I've got Glype and it works great except for the fact that It gives me an error on YouTube and Netflix.
I am considering going to Squid and giving Squid a try, but I'm not sure it will be any different.
All the forums and download pages for these things are blocked, so it is really a pain to learn anything or post in the forums.
I do have an IPhone with 1 gig of memory that I can connect my computer to, but I need to be careful as I only have 1 gig there. I posted on several other forums, asking for ideas, but haven't received any responses. The Glype developers were just like "go to the forums if you want to get support and we won't unblock our site from proxy access" because the forums at proxy.org are blocked by all proxies as well as my network.
So this leads me to think that Digital ocean is really the way to go as I can just change my IP or DNS if my network yells at me. Also, it is only $0.007 an hour. I don't know if I will need to get more data though to stream netflix. Does anyone know how video streaming works? I have the following on digital ocean:
512MBMemory
1 CoreProcessor
20GBSSD Disk
1TBTransfer